m a r k a n d e y a

Cathartidae’s 2005 Movie Awards

Posted by Brian on January 15, 2006

I wanted to wait until I saw Narnia to make this list as I thought the adaptation of C.S. Lewis’s book might make the cut. It did. Here’s the list, in no particular order:

  • Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith – I wrote a review of Sith that can be found here. In short, I found it to be an excellent finish to the series.
  • King Kong – Sure, it was 3+ hours long, but I loved every minute of it. My girlfriend cried throughout the final hour fo the film, and I cried a bit too (hey, I’m a sensitive guy). Get me drunk and I’ll tell about my theory of King Kong as a metaphor for the life of a foreigner in Korea.
  • Kung Fu Hustle – Funny as all hell and with some serious kick-ass action scenes… who can dislike this bit of creative genius?
  • The Chronicles of Narnia – I wasn’t too impressed with the child actors, and I thought it could have been a bit longer to give it more of an epic feel, but bringing to life a whole slew of mythological creatures through the use of CGI magic made this movie a joy to watch. 

Honorable mentions – Red Eye and Corpse Bride

Biggest Disapointments – The Land of the Dead and Fantastic Four  

Top Movie Moments – Yoda force-slapping the mooks by the door as he entered to confront Palpatine; King Kong going toe-to-claw with not one, not two, but three dinosaurs to protect his love; the last moments of Anakin Skywalker before the helmet closes on his face; The Thing blocking an oncoming semi and its front end crumpling around his bulk.

7 Responses to “Cathartidae’s 2005 Movie Awards”

  1. EFL Geek said

    Gotta disagree with you on Kong – it bit the big one. While Fantastic Four wasn’t great, it was definitely better than Kong.

  2. scott said

    Of all the movies you mention, I’ve only seen Kung-fu Hustle (I don’t get out much). I agree it was good. The kung-fu master ajumma-ajoshi couple was great. It fell intot he usual Asian sappy love theme a bit near the end, but overall it was a fun ride.

  3. Nomad said

    EFL Geek,

    Fantastic Four was better than King Kong? Puleeeeze…

    🙂

  4. EFL Geek said

    Nomad,

    King Kong was the worst movie I have seen in the last 15 years at least maybe more.

  5. EFL Geek,

    We’re talking about the 2005 King Kong… not that crappy remake from the 70’s 😉

    Brian

  6. EFL Geek said

    Yes, the piece of Shite that is currently in the theatres. Not that the 70’s version is any better.

  7. Anthony B said

    My vote goes to Downfall. Truly a great film. 2046 was also good.

Leave a Reply

 
