m a r k a n d e y a

After further review…

Posted by Brian on February 7, 2006

I got this important email message from an anonymous reader this afternoon: 

Say, Brian… the Seahawks lost the Super Bowl yet they outperformed the Stealers statistically in 3 important areas: time of possession, turnover ratio, and total yardage. Is this the first time in Super Bowl history that such a thing has occured?

Well, I’m glad you asked that question. I went through the nfl.com Super Bowl archives and looked at the team stats for all 40 championship games. The result is that, yes, this is the first time that a team that gained less yardage (339-396), had the ball less (26:58 to 33:02), and gave up more turnovers (2-1) has ever won a Super Bowl. Something is rotten in Denmark.

It seems I’m not the only one to break things down in this manner. Be sure to click that link for further commentary on the statistical oddities of the Seahawk loss.

Various commentary on the outrageous refereeing here, here, here, and here.

The more I read and the more I think about the angrier I get. Insult to injury… now I have to buy Drambuie Man dinner.

3 Responses to “After further review…”

  1. Dram_man said

    How’s that resoultion to be less bitter going?

  2. Keep it up, DM, and I’ll be buying you lunch at Lotteria:)

    Just give me one week to gripe. That’s all I ask for.

  3. slim said

    With Hines Ward suddenly becoming Korean and all this fishy refereeing, I’m starting to have 2002 World Cup flashbacks. DaeHan MinGuk.

Leave a Reply

 
