m a r k a n d e y a

Told you so…

Posted by Brian on February 20, 2007

This is from a speech Barack Obama made in October 2002:

Now let me be clear — I suffer no illusions about Saddam Hussein. He is a brutal man. A ruthless man. A man who butchers his own people to secure his own power. He has repeatedly defied UN resolutions, thwarted UN inspection teams, developed chemical and biological weapons, and coveted nuclear capacity.

He’s a bad guy. The world, and the Iraqi people, would be better off without him.

But I also know that Saddam poses no imminent and direct threat to the United States, or to his neighbors, that the Iraqi economy is in shambles, that the Iraqi military a fraction of its former strength, and that in concert with the international community he can be contained until, in the way of all petty dictators, he falls away into the dustbin of history.

I know that even a successful war against Iraq will require a US occupation of undetermined length, at undetermined cost, with undetermined consequences. I know that an invasion of Iraq without a clear rationale and without strong international support will only fan the flames of the Middle East, and encourage the worst, rather than best, impulses of the Arab world, and strengthen the recruitment arm of al-Qaeda. I am not opposed to all wars. I’m opposed to dumb wars.

With this kind of prescience, Obama just went up a few notches in my Presidential Dem-o-meter. My current preference is Edwards, then Obama, then everyone else, with Hillary at the bottom. But that changes if Gore gets in.

Via Altercation.

2 Responses to “Told you so…”

  1. bighominid said

    Obama strikes me as a good fellow, but I wonder at his chances.

    Question: what do you think are the chances that Gore would join the race? He’s already indicated that he’s not running, but do you think he might change his mind? Gore has spent the last few years making a name for himself out from under Clinton’s shadow, and he comes off as a likeable gent– certainly more likeable than Hillary. I have yet to see “An Inconvenient Truth,” but hope to do so soon.

    Kevin

  2. Brian said

    Kevin,

    I really, really don’t know.

    On one hand, he has huge name recognition; he has a lot of sympathy from voters on the left, like myself, who feel he was the victim of a horrible injustice in 2000; he has a good fundraising network; and surely he must realize that with all the damage Bush has done to our country over the past 6 years that now is an excellent chance for any Dem candidate.

    But on the other hand, I’ve heard he very content with his situation as an independent advocate of the issues that matter most for him. And after what he went through in 2000, why would he want to do it again?

    If he were to run, I would get behind his candidacy in a big way. I’ve never actually donated my time and effort to a political campaign, but Gore deserves my help.

    I hope he runs… I really do.

Leave a Reply

 
