m a r k a n d e y a

Laundry Adventures

Posted by Brian on March 19, 2007

One of my usual rituals whenever I move in Korea is to find a nearby laundry shop to take care of my laundry needs. I went looking yesterday and found a place nearby… walking in with a small bag of laundry, I asked how much it would be.

10,000W,” she said.

As a Korean veteran, I know for a fact that that is way too much for the small bag I had, so I said I would think about it and left. As I was leaving, she told me that they would do it for 8,000W, but I didn’t stop.

So I look around some more until I find another place. This woman tells me that it will cost 6,000W for the laundry, a price I find reasonable. So I give her the money, my laundry, and head back to work, satisfied that I had found a place to take care of my laundry for the next 5 months.

But what struck me about my outing was that  I went through the *exact* same process a few years ago when I moved to Itaewon. I went to one place, they overcharged me for one bag, so I found another shop that didn’t try to rip me off, and they got my business for the next 15 months. In both cases, one shop went for the quick extra buck and ended up losing a long-term customer as a result. From a business standpoint, it just doesn’t make any sense to me.

Has anyone else in Korea had a similar experience?

Leave a Reply

 
