m a r k a n d e y a

D-War

Posted by Brian on August 6, 2007

After reading comments like this one (“…worst movie I have ever seen”), and comments at this Marmot’s thread, and this review here, I went to the theater to see D-War with very, very low expectations. In fact, one of the main reasons that I wanted see it was just because I’m still kicking myself for not seeing Yonggari in theaters 8 or so years ago when that rotten egg was stinking up theaters nationwide. So I paid my 4,000W for the early Sunday showing expecting to do no more than kill some time. But you know what…

I liked D-War. I liked it a lot.

Sure, the acting wasn’t that great, and the CGI is hardly Lucas Arts quality, and the story was pretty dumb, but all in all, I had a pretty good time watching the movie. I think the director has a real talent for engaging action scenes… the chaotic ending with Chosun stormtroopers, flying dragons, and (unmarked, I noticed) National Guard weaponry was a real blast! I also enjoyed the Lord of the Rings-style Chosun-era battle between rocket-armed dinosaurs, the aforementioned stormtroopers, and some poor Korean village.

It was goofy, goofy fun that I found very appealing; in fact, I found it be even better than 1408, another movie I saw recently.

Leave a Reply

 
