m a r k a n d e y a

Not what I meant…

Posted by Brian on October 1, 2007

So I’m in class tonight and the girl sitting opposite me is a Korean woman studying TESOL so she can be an English teacher back home. During the break, I try some small talk…

“Hello… what part of Korea are you from?”

“South”

???

I guess she figured I was asking her if she was North or South Korean, while I was assuming she was from the south and was just inquiring about her hometown there.

Anyway, after we got over the miscommunication, I found out her family is from Ilsan and that she went to Dongkuk University in Seoul. She was quite amazed by my knowledge of Korean geography and food.

One Response to “Not what I meant…”

  1. Anthony said

    So… not that much different from here then.

Leave a Reply

 
