m a r k a n d e y a

Edwards is out…

Posted by Brian on January 30, 2008

I woke up this morning to learn that John Edwards, my favored candidate, would be dropping out of the presidential race today. Figures… my top three candidates (Edwards, Dodd, Biden) all drop out of the race before I even get a chance to cast my primary vote. Great fucking system we have here… the envy of the world.

I’m pissed at the way the mainstream media pretty much wrote off Edwards after new Hampshire. Form then on, it was a Clinton – Obama race, which was the narrative the pundits wanted the most. Written out of the process, potential Edwards supporters drifted towards the remaining two candidates. Way to do your country a service, big media.

And god… when the MSNBC pundit said “Well, it looks like it’s a 2 person race now,” this morning in response to the news, I just about threw my coffee mug through the TV screen.

Edwards would have been an excellent president. Surely, he deserves a cabinet position in the next administration.

One Response to “Edwards is out…”

  1. Tony C. said

    We’re in the same boat. Pity. I was about to give Edwards a hundred bucks. His campaign had finance problems though. What I would really love to see is more campaign finance reform. The kind that allows candidates who might not be mega-millionaires but who have solid credentials to be electable.

Leave a Reply

 
