m a r k a n d e y a

If/When

Posted by Brian on November 3, 2008

SO I Was watching a McCain stump speech the other day and at one point he said “If I’m elected…”, he then paused for a moment and seemed to correct himself with, “When I’ m elected…”. The crowd cheered. Nice save, I thought.

Later that day, McCain was elsewhere giving a similar stump speech. I was doing some school work at my ocmputer with the TV on behind me and to my surprise, I heard the same “mistake” made again: he started with “If…”, and then “corrected” himself to “when,” which brought big cheers from the crowd. Wait a minute… I was thinking. HE couldn’t have made the same mistake twice, could he?

SO the following day, I’m watching him speak again… and lo and behold, he made the exact same “mistake” and “correction,” which brought out another cheer.  At this point my BS meter is going off the charts… he’s clearly faking a slip-of-the-tongue and then correcting himself as some theatric flourish for his speech. Doing a bit of googling, I found other instances as well.

Sure, it’s not a big deal, but the ridiculous fakeness of it all just reminds me of just how lame his campaign has been.

Leave a Reply

 
